Apps, Random Therapy Ideas, Worth Every Penny

Screen Chomp Magic

I’ll be the first to admit it: I live the GLAMOROUS life of a grad student. Early morning panics about exams, long nights writing 10-page final case summaries in the computer lab, overdosing on caffeine… Truly the life of luxury (I know you all remember those days, or are currently living those days). In addition to my regular class & clinic work, I am teaching 2 sections of a 100-level, mile-wide-inch-deep undergrad intro course for our department this quarter.

Throughout these past 10 weeks, I have certainly seen the error of my ways in trying to teach 65 freshman –> seniors challenging concepts like “language disorders,” “audition,” and my personal favorite, “IPA” in 50-minute classes. IPA was actually split into 2 classes (because 100 minutes is totally enough time to explain all there is to know about linguistics and phonemes and diacritics and phonotactics and…yeah, you get it!). So while flopped on my couch last week in a bout of despair, I opened up my iPad and decided to try a brand new app I’d just downloaded: ScreenChomp. I had no idea what the app did, but since I’m always one to give $free.99 apps a chance, I figured it was a good app to test out. It took me all of 8 seconds before I was yelling “HALLELUJAH” for ScreenChomp!

ScreenChomp is a way to make interactive videos that you can then share via email, Facebook, Twitter, etc. When you open the app, you are presented with the screen above. In order to start a new project, you click on the “Draw and Record” button, which will bring you to the screen below:

For any presentation, you can either have a blank “whiteboard” background (like the one shown), or you can click on the button in the bottom left-hand corner to choose a background that you’ve uploaded onto your iPad either as a document or photo. Once your background is chosen, you can write on it with various colored markers (with various size options), erase, clear the entire page, and record your voice as you go! A finished presentation can be “shared” via email or social networking sites.

So, why was I so excited about this for my undergrad classes? Rather than take additional class time to offer practice with IPA transcription (which they badly needed) or to do tons of final exam review, I could make “tutorial videos” for my students to watch on their own time, in the comfort of their own homes! So far my students have had nothing but positive things to say about the video presentations (even though my stylus “handwriting” looks like a preschooler writing while on a roller coaster). I have included links to 2 actual videos I sent to my classes. Please please PLEASE forgive my general goofiness that appears in these…they tended to be created verrrrrrrry late at night on verrrrrrrry little sleep. Also, the info. presented to this class is super-dee-duper basic and might not be up to par for you brilliant SLPs (just an attempt to give a basic presentation of this info. to students from other majors). Although I’m using the videos in college-level classes, I foresee TONS of ways this app can be used in a therapy setting with school-age kids (or even little guys). It would be a FANTASTIC way to demo homework activities or to train parents/caregivers of clients! As a free app, I think ScreenChomp is a must-have on every iPad!

Video project of IPA transcription practice: http://www.screenchomp.com/t/MsI38Avnjr. This one uses a background I imported into the app (from a different app).

Video project of final exam review: http://www.screenchomp.com/t/V62khm4Mll. This one uses the blank “whiteboard” background. ***disclaimer: I accidentally say “functional voice disorder” at one point when I mean “organic voice disorder.” Proof I am sooooo not perfect…sigh!

 

2 thoughts on “Screen Chomp Magic”

Leave a Reply

